Women in Economics Workshop 2021

Workshop for Women in Economics 2021 will be held virtually on two consecutive days, February 25-26, 2021, to minimize Zoom fatigue and allow for participants from different time zones to join. During breaks, participants can interact in the breakout groups to allow for small group conversations.

Register

Program

Thursday, February 25

Chair: Gohar Sedrakyan (Kennesaw State University)

6:00-6:40pm Yerevan time (3:00-3:40pm CET, 9:00-9:40am EST)

Rolling back the gains: Maternal stress undermines pregnancy health after Flint’s water switch
Shooshan Danagoulian, Wayne State University (joint with Derek Jenkins)

6:40-7:00pm  Yerevan time (3:40-4:00pm CET, 9:40-10:00am EST)

Break and small group networking

7:00-7:40pm Yerevan time (4:00-4:40pm CET, 10:00-10:40am EST)

Some sticky facts for Armenian consumer prices
Anahit Matinyan, Central Bank of Armenia (joint with Armen Nurbekyan)

Friday, February 26

Chair: Tatevik Sekhposyan (Texas A&M University)

6:00-6:40pm Yerevan time (3:00-3:40pm CET, 9:00-9:40am EST)

Populism and Polarization in Social Media Without Fake News: the Vicious Circle of Biases, Beliefs, and Network Homophily
Zaruhi Hakobyan, University of Luxembourg (joint with Christos Koulovatianos)

6:40-7:00pm  Yerevan time (3:40-4:00pm CET, 9:40-10:00am EST)

Break and small group networking

7:00-7:40pm Yerevan time (4:00-4:40pm CET, 10:00-10:40am EST)

Affirmative Action and Intersectionality at the Top: Evidence from South Africa
Anna Minasyan, University of Groningen (joint with Stephan Klasen)